SMILE


image

Could last for just a second but it could change a life forever;

Doesn’t say much but speak volumes in meaning;

It is the a good sign for someone anxious about his day;

It is the light for someone who has been in the dark tunnels for so long;

It is the best and most costless gift you can give to friends and strangers alike.

 

image

And when someone smiles at you, do your best to smile back;

Because although the face smiling might look sweet, you have no idea what’s behind it all;

It could be a desperate plea for someone to lighten her burden or pain with a return smile;

Just as the smile brightened your mood or day, she expects you to do same;

You may not have the right to her business; but she obliges you to make her forget her woes even it is only for a second.

 

image

And when your smile is not returned;

Don’t ever stop smiling; after all everyone is minding his own business;

Don’t let the hardships of this life embitter your gentle soul;

Nor let its cruelty harden your heart;

No matter what life throws at you, don’t let it take away your smile.

 

image

Because someone out there is counting on it to live through the day;

Because you need it to get through yours;

Because it’s the antidote to the venom of life’s ups and downs;

Simply because it doesn’t hurt to smile.

So, never stop smiling.

 

Inspired by the words of a friend who told me never to stop smiling. 🙂

18 Comments Add yours

  1. I love your post and I love giving and receiving smiles.
    I am hoping you could answer a few questions:
    What is a Missionary Smile? I hear it’s kind of a fake smile. Why do they call it missionary smile? Have you ever experienced or seen someone smile at you but it wasn’t real? How did that make you feel?

    Sorry for putting a frown on a beautiful and positive post. I hope you can put a smile on my frowny questions.

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      Honestly this is my first time hearing of the term. Of course I’ve seen some fake smiles. I don’t give much attention to that. I just move on with my life. Thanks for your comment.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Keep on smiling, Dan. 🙂

      Like

  2. Josey,

    I am copying this for my office. You wrote another recipe for the hungry soul!

    Blessings!
    Jeanne

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Elly says:

    ‘Don’t let the hardships of this life embitter your gentle soul’ I love this line. Will keep smiling. Thanks for reminding me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Your post just made me smile. It is definitely an antidote not just for life’s ups but also the downs. Thanks for inspiring! xx

    http://www.prettyweirdbombshell.com/how-to-be-confident/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      And thanks for reading!

      Like

  5. mariebaby20 says:

    Yes it is good to smile, but sometimes I am too tired to smile and people think I’m mean lol I have to tell them no I’m tired I will smile another day lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha…. A smile will make you feel better too, Marie. Thanks for reading 😊

      Like

      1. mariebaby20 says:

        You are welcome.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Well said, I have read a couple blogs on this topic lately and I still marvel at the fact that a simple smile can brighten someone’s day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      It is very true! Thanks for reading ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Its almost one of lifes givens that if we smile things tend to go smoother in life. I also find talking to strangers has a similar effect. Its the connectedness I think.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I believe so too. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts Eddie ☺

      Like

  8. Wow. So true – a heartwarming smile is the best jewel we can wear on ourselves. This is absolutely inspiring!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      You’re right, it’s the best ornament. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts, Vaishnavi.

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

