Imaginary Friend


http://dailypost.wordpress.com

Many of us had imaginary friends as young children. If your imaginary friend grew up beside you, what would his/her/its life be like today? (Didn’t have one? Write about a non-imaginary friend you haven’t seen since childhood).

image
Photo credits to Google Images.

Imaginary friend… I am sure most of us had one growing up. But thanks to my Christian background, the ‘imaginary’ friend I had (and still have) seemed more real. My Sunday school lessons taught me that the best friend one can ever find is Jesus Christ and unlike human friends, He is always with me. I believed those words and held onto them strongly. Although I did not see Jesus physically, that did not make me doubt His presence around me every time. I was too young to understand my faith in Him but I guess my innocence in it all worked for me.

Because I learnt and accepted that Jesus understands our feelings as humans because He came to earth and lived among men, I knew I could always count on Him to take me through any challenge before me. Be it a tough exam paper coming up, bullies at school or even the occasional misunderstandings with parents and friends, I knew He’s got my back. All I had to do was tell Him. Instead of talking to a doll or a teddy bear, I just looked up and spoke freely. Then I left the rest to Him. And looking back, I think it has been an amazing journey so far.

Growing up with Him by my side has been an interesting tale. Through the years, I have come to know Him better and appreciate how He has led my path since childhood since now. Most children growing up have this imaginary friend with whom they play and sometimes use that as an excuse for some of the mischief they caused. But my ‘imaginary’ friend made me feel at peace even during the loneliest and saddest moments of my life and filled my little heart with so much joy over the little things which I now recognize as the greatest blessings.

Friends have come and gone but the constant one in my life since I understood what the word meant is still with me. Others may see Him as imaginary because they don’t see Him. But one thing I know is that I don’t need to see Him to feel him near me. He’s always…there for me.

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

