Love Without Eyes S2 Chapter Thirty Four


image

Lucia patted Mitch’s back and gave him one rub. Mitch inhaled her fragrant scent deeply. He looked up when he sensed a swift moment but saw no one. They drew apart.

“Are you okay now?” Lucia asked. Mitch nodded.

“I feel much better now.” Lucia smiled. She threw him a napkin which he caught.

“Help me wipe the dishes, will you?”

“If that guarantees that I get to spend more time with you, I’m all in.”

“Smooth.”

 

“Why the long look?” Ted asked Anita as she approached him. She sighed and sat down. She leaned on the sofa and stared at the ceiling.

“What would you do if you suddenly realized you married the wrong person?”

“What do you mean?” Anita gazed at him.

“What if we were meant to be together and not to the ones we’ve gotten married to?”

“I don’t know…”

“What if, Ted? It’s just a hypothetical question.” Ted sighed.

“I’d say it would really suck because since I don’t believe in divorce, I have to live with it till I die.”

“That’s it? You’ll live in misery forever?”

“Well that was my cross to carry from the moment I said ‘I do.’ What’s really going on with you, Anita?”

“Nothing. I’m happy with Mitch, I am; and I do believe he cares about me but sometimes I wonder if that’s enough,” Anita said.

“It is. Don’t overthink things. Just take one day at a time and you’ll end up enjoying every day of your marriage even the bad times.”

“So you believe that you made the right choice by marrying Monique.”

“I do, every day. It couldn’t have been anyone else.”

“Wish I had that kind of confidence,” Anita said to herself.

 

 

“You’re in a good mood,” Anita said as she observed her husband later in the evening.

“I am; it was great hanging out with TB today. It had been a while.”

“Uh huh; just TB could cause you to be this excited the whole day?” Mitch cast a suspicious glance at Anita.

“Yeah, just in case you don’t know how it feels to miss a dear friend. I advise you find yourself one.”  Anita raised a brow at the comment.

“I can take your cynicism but don’t you dare treat me like a fool. We both know why you can’t stop smiling at yourself.”

“Which would be?”

“I saw you with Monique in the kitchen today.” Mitch chuckled.

“Oh no, I don’t only have a nagging wife, it so seems like she has a tint of jealousy too.”

“Well, this is the package you married so you better get used to it.”

“With this tone you use with me, you still wonder why another woman makes me smile?”

“What at all on earth does Lucia Monique have that every guy I meet can’t seem to resist? If it’s physique, I’m way hotter than her….”

“You know, that’s where you miss it. It is not about the outward beauty…”

“Yeah, yeah, blah, blah…it’s about the beauty from within. But that’s total crap to me because it is my kind of body that attracts guys like you in the first place.”

“True but it’s Monique’s kind of character that keeps guys like us wrapped around the finger.”

“Are you saying Monique has you wrapped around her finger?” Anita asked.

“No, I’m not but it wouldn’t be hard for her. And if you don’t lose that tone with me, you’d force me to reciprocate it,” Mitch warned.

“Oh really? Go on, let’s see your worst.”

“You’re not going to make me stoop down to your level,” Mitch said and walked away.

“Yeah walk away because guys like you prefer to walk out than admit what is really going on.” He shut the door behind him. Anita shook her head and tears formed in her eyes.

“Just a day with her and I’ve already lost him. Damn her.”

 

 

Two days later, Ted invited them over for dinner. Mitch carried Gail in his arms and played with her the whole time. Both Lucia and Anita were fascinated with the scene.

“I didn’t peg Mitch to be the ‘crazy-about-kids’ type,” Lucia commented.

“Yeah; perhaps he’s like this because it’s your kid,” Anita said. Lucia shrugged.

“Well, who can blame him? Gail is such a cutie.”

“That she is.” Mitch gave Gail a loud kiss on the cheek.

“I think you should give him a baby before he comes for mine,” Lucia said jokingly.

“I’m working on it.”

Mitch noticed something at the back of Gail’s neck. He studied it closely. He swallowed as he turned to look at Lucia who was talking to Anita.

“I think it’s daddy’s turn,” Ted said.

“Sure.” Mitch gave him the baby.

“Something just came to mind. What if the baby was Mitch’s and Ted left you because of that? You would have definitely hooked with Mitch and I might end up with Ted in the end,” Anita said.

“For the sanity of the universe’s sake, it didn’t happen that way. I thought you were over my husband by now.”

“I am; I just wished that my husband was over you too by now.” They glanced at each other.

“What are you talking about?”

“Come on Monique; after everything we’ve been through, shouldn’t honesty flow easily in our conversations?” Lucia blinked.

“Mitch still likes you.”

“Well, it’s not my fault that I’m likeable. He may seem a little flirtatious but he’s still crazy about you, Anita. Always remember that.”

“Uh huh.”

 

Lucia was checking her mails on her tablet when Ted joined her in bed. He kissed her cheek.

“Dinner was amazing.” Lucia smiled.

“Thanks. It seems like we have some reports to review tomorrow.”

“Oh really? Well, that can wait,” he said and gently took the tablet from her. Lucia bit her lower lip. He placed it on his side drawer.

“I think we should come up with a rule of bringing gadgets into this bed, don’t you think?”

“Oh come on, I was waiting for you.” He pulled her into his arms for a kiss.

“We need to be at the office earlier than usual.”

“You really have a talent for ruining the moment, don’t you?” Lucia chuckled and kissed him.

“It’s possible that Mitch would be moving into town soon.” Lucia froze and blinked.

“I guess I’m better than it than you are,” Ted said.

“What do you mean, moving into town?”

“Our companies are undertaking a project together and Mitch being Mitch, he got himself the task of handling it so yeah, he might be moving into town.”

“I don’t know how to react to that.”

“I know…this means Anita would be coming down too and trust me, I’m not really looking forward to it.”

“Can’t you request for someone else to take Mitch’s place?” Lucia asked.

“And why would I do that in the first place?”

“I know you two are in a good place…” Ted sat up.

“Tell me, Monique.”

“I think he still likes me.”

“That he always will. But he knows reality won’t allow it so don’t worry,” Ted said dismissively. Lucia sighed and threw herself back on the bed.

 

Anita approached her husband from behind to find him staring at Gail’s photo on his phone intently.

“She’s such a cutie, isn’t she?” she asked. Mitch looked up at her.

“Yes she is.”

“You seem to be in deep thought about something. What is it?”

“I noticed that she had a birthmark behind her neck.”

“Big deal. Everyone has one.”

“My mother has a similar one.” Anita scoffed.

“Okay…let’s call it an interesting consequential circumstance. So what?”

“What if it’s not?”

“What are you driving at, Mitch?”

“Are you implying what I think you are?” He only stared at her.

“That night when you said nothing happened between you two…”

Mitch’s facial expression was calmly blank.

“You must be kidding me, Mitch.”

 

19 Comments Add yours

  1. Kim says:

    Interesting twist…:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks. All for you. 🙂

      Like

  2. Albertina says:

    Woww…u’re amazing Josey. God bless u gurl.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thank you, dear. God bless you too for reading ☺

      Like

  3. lea says:

    Pls is this the end of the story or u would continue??

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      For now, it is. Maybe I might continue in the future 😀 hope you’ve enjoyed reading so far

      Like

  4. kweku says:

    Really nice work, enjoyed reading every episode. When are the next episodes coming out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks Kweku. I can’t really tell for now since I’m working on another story at the moment. Hope you’ll read and enjoy the others as well☺

      Like

  5. Hi Joe ❤

    Is this the last chapter for s2 ?

    Like

  6. Korkor Tee says:

    whew!! it is amazing how you have me glued till the last sentence. Oh laaawwwwwwdddddd!!! why cant some people be like me and just shut their beaks? Did Mitch have to mention the birth mark issue to his wife? ah asem ooo. Now that Madam Anita knows, kindly do me a favour and complete the story before i dream about some crazy ending? Kuddos gurrrrlllll!! you write great

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Korkor! I’m glad you enjoyed it. ☺😊

      Like

  7. Ms_Eleeza says:

    Another amazing binge read even though I so don’t like the twist… Can you pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeease take it further? I need closure, lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Sorry about that. Maybe I will. Thanks for reading ☺

      Like

      1. Ms_Eleeza says:

        Maybe is not enough… My heartbreak needs healing 😖😖😖… Always welcome, your writing is awesome

        Liked by 1 person

      2. joseyphina says:

        Lol… Thanks dear😀😘

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ms_Eleeza says:

        Even if you want me to buy all the atwemo in Accra for you, I will 😂😂😂

        Liked by 1 person

      4. joseyphina says:

        Haha… I’m more of a kelewele gal 😁😂😂

        Like

      5. Ms_Eleeza says:

        Okay, all the kelewele in Accra then 😂😂

        Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

