Love Without Eyes S2 Chapter Thirty One


wpid-images-1.jpeg

“Anita asked you to be her what?!” Ted asked, when he paused his teeth-brushing. Lucia paused her hair-brushing upon hearing his reaction.
“Which part surprises you, the fact that she asked me to be her bridesmaid for the second time or the fact that she’s getting married in the first place?”
Ted rinsed his mouth.
“Don’t you find it odd that they are getting married this soon? How much do they know about themselves in the first place?”
“And who are you concerned about in this case, your ex-girlfriend or your old time best friend?” Lucia asked curiously.
“What is that supposed to mean?”
“I just want to understand your line of thought. Finally, Anita gets to move on with another person and you’re not happy about that?”
“Of course I am; I just think they are rushing into it. Even we who were so convinced to be made for each other had to go through very dramatic adjustments. How much more they who have known themselves for less than a year?”
“I am sure they are grown up enough to handle the challenges that come with marriage, Ted.”
“Uh huh, I’m sure they are.”
“You’re not happy about this, are you? It hurts you that your second fiddle is moving on to be with someone else.”
“Come on, how can you say that, Lucia? Why would I need a second fiddle when I’ve got you?”
“Whatever gets you through the night.”
“I have a bad feeling about this. I know Mitch and I believe he has set his eyes on Anita because I used to be involved with her. He has always wanted what I had. No wonder he came onto you.”
“Wow…your ex and your long lost friend have found love and you manage to make it all about you. Peoples’ lives don’t revolve around you, Ted.”
“I know that it’s a relief for you that Anita is getting married to Mitch so you can finally get over your insecurity but Anita is my friend and I don’t want to see her hurt.”
“Anita is your friend and Mitch is not? Are you implying Mitch doesn’t deserve her?”
“I just think they are doing this for all the wrong reasons.”
“And that’s your business, how? And FYI, you’re partly responsible for my so-called insecurity because you always gave me reason to believe that you had nothing to lose if we didn’t work out. And that Anita would always be available to take my place and now it sucks for you that your number threat of a bargaining chip is being whisked away by your lover boy of a friend.”
“When I proposed to you, I knew in my heart that there was no turning back. Anita was my past and that’s where she’ll always belong. Yeah, I am concerned that if my suspicions are true, their marriage could end badly and we could be implicated.”
“How?”
“Anita has always loved me and Mitch has some hidden feelings for you. Do I need to connect the dots for you?” Ted asked.
“That is not my problem and the same goes for you.” Lucia got into bed and under the covers.
“You’re not upset, are you?” Ted asked, also getting into bed.
“We are ending the day talking about Anita Morgan, how upset can I be? I should be getting used to it, shouldn’t I?” Lucia said in a sarcastic tone.
“Wow.” Ted almost jumped out of his skin when Lucia turned suddenly to face him and asked bluntly, “You still love her, don’t you?”
“What? I can’t believe this. After everything we’ve been through, you dare ask me that ridiculous question again?”
“Do you or don’t you?”
“I’m not going to dignify that silly question with an answer, Lucia.”
“Did you just call me silly?”
Ted held her face and kissed her forehead.
“No I didn’t, my love; go to sleep. You’re exhausted.”
“But…”
“Shush…I don’t want us to go to bed mad at each other. Let it go, okay?”
Lucia inhaled deeply. “Okay.” They lay down. And with a smile on Lucia’s face, she closed her eyes.

Lucia’s eyes fell on Mitch the very minute she entered the office.
“Hey…How’s the latest married man to-be doing?”
“I’m good.” He hugged her. They stared at each other for a moment.
“I know what you’re thinking; that my proposal to Anita came too soon.”
“Oh I personally don’t have a problem with that. If you sincerely love her and you have decided to spend the rest of your life with her, then go for it.”
“And I’m sure you’re glad so I can move on from the feelings I have for you.”
“I am. Anita is a very…”
“You don’t have to read her trait résumé to me. I am sure she’s a great lady if TB dated her.”
“Are you telling me you’re going to marry her because Ted almost did?”
“No, I’m just saying that if Ted considered marrying her, then she must be a unique lady. After all, he married a precious jewel like you.”
Lucia realized he was still holding you. She broke free and went back a few steps.
“I wish you two all the happiness in the world. I do pray that you two make it to the end.”
“Yeah, with both of us tied down, you wouldn’t have to deal what is going on here between us.”
“I don’t want to think that you’re obsessed with me, Mitch. If this is a mind game, I’m not interested. I’m only being nice to you because you mean something to my husband. What are you doing here by the way?”
“I came to pick Anita. There are some places we have to check out. She’s asking Ted for the day off.”
“Okay. His phone rang.
“Please give me a minute.”
“Oh help yourself.” Mitch stepped outside. Lucia walked to the door and heard Ted and Anita speaking. She stopped to listen.
“I just want to be sure you know what you’re doing, Anita. You’re not marrying him because he is my friend, are you?” Anita chuckled.
“Are you serious? Why would I hang my whole future on that? I do like him, Ted. Yes, he being your friend and portraying some of your traits is a plus but I can see a future with him. I held on to you too long and now I have to let go. You have a good thing going with Monique and I want that too.”
“Okay; I just don’t want you marrying him for the wrong reasons.”
“I’ll be fine. It is sweet to know you still care. It is heartwarming.”
“I will always care.” He hugged her.
“Thank you,” Anita said, tears threatening to form in her eyes. They broke apart. Lucia entered.
“Hey…Mitch just told me you two have some rounds to make.”
“Yeah…we need to sit down and plan the event. But I’ll be very wary of you this time because the last time I asked you, you ended up marrying him.” They laughed.
“I promise he’s all yours,” Lucia said.
“I’ll leave you two now,” Anita excused herself.
“How’s your old man doing?” Ted asked, leaning on the desk.
“He’s okay; a bit grumpier than before but fine. I just pity his staff.” Ted chuckled.
“Please hold me,” she said, walking into his arms and staying there.
“I’m sorry for trying to pick a fight last night.”
“It’s okay. I have just realized that talking about Anita doesn’t augur very well for your health.” She chuckled.
“Anita is finally moving on.”
“Yes she is.”

One Comment Add yours

  1. Hmm, very interesting. ..

    Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

