Love Without Eyes S2 Chapter Twenty Six


wpid-images-1.jpeg

“I guess I was right to keep this apartment. I knew in my heart you would be back,” Mitch said.
“I might be here but I’m not here in the sense that you think. We need to talk, Mitch,” Lucia said coolly.
“We can talk later but I’m taking you out for dinner tonight. It is on me.”
“No Mitch; I didn’t come here to socialize. I came to clear things up.”
“Looking at your bag, you do not intend to leave anytime soon. Let’s hold it off till tomorrow at least.”
Lucia was about to insist when he stopped her by putting his index finger on her lips. Lucia froze by his gesture.
“Shush…I say let’s talk tomorrow,” Mitch said with a tone of finality. Lucia stepped back and nodded.
“I intend to leave the minute I get the information I’m looking for. I won’t spend an extra hour here. And don’t you ever touch me like that again,” Lucia warned and entered the bedroom. Mitch pocketed his hands.
“Welcome back.”
Anita entered Ted’s office the next morning.
“So how did it go last night?” Ted’s moody look gave her the answer.
“What happened? You guys fought again?”
“She wasn’t at home.”
“She wasn’t? Where could she be?”
“Apparently she left without revealing her plans.”
“Of course you don’t believe that, do you?”
“Nope but what can I do? And the worst part is, I went to meet divorce papers in her room.” Anita’s eyes widened at the juicy information.
“She’s filing for divorce? Seriously? I didn’t think that if push gets to shove, she’d be the first to throw in the towel. Wow…does that mean there’s still a chance for us?” Anita asked teasingly. Ted gave her a ‘you’re-not-serious’ look. Anita laughed.
“I’m sorry; okay now I’m serious. So what are you going to do?”
“What can I do but wait for her to get back?”
“Have you tried calling her?”
“No.”
“And why not?”
“I want to speak to her face-to-face. Tempers could rise over the phone and we could say regretful things.”
“The same is more likely to happen face-to-face.”
“Nope. It is better for me to wait for her to get back.”
“And when will that be exactly? Have you asked yourself where she could be at the moment?”
“Does it matter?”
“Oh it does. The last time she went out of town, she met Mitch and we both know how that turned out.” Ted turned sharply to look at her at the mention of Mitch’s name. His heart missed a beat. He immediately took his phone and speed-dialed Lucia’s number. It went straight to voicemail. He put it down, shaking his head.
Anita took out her phone.
“Who are you calling?” Ted asked.
“Mitch.” She listened for some time and canceled the call.
“He cut it,” Anita said. They stared at each other, wondering what that might imply.

Lucia watched Mitch tap ‘ignore’ on his smartphone.
“Why didn’t you pick up?”
“It is nothing important. I can always attend to it later. But now, you’ve got my full attention. I remember you being pretty distant when I came over so how can I help you now?” Mitch asked.
“I want to know exactly what happened the night you stayed over at my apartment the other night,” Lucia asked and sipped her tea.
“What do you mean, exactly what happened?”
“I drank a little too much so I don’t really remember the details of that night. So I would like you to clarify them for me.”
“And why is that?”
“Okay, I’ll go straight to the point. Did we get involved that night?”
“What? Why would you think that?”
“Because I turned out to be pregnant a few weeks after that night and I want to be sure if the baby is my husband’s or not.”
“Oh so that is why Ted stormed into my place and punched me and ordered me to leave.”
“I’m sorry about that. The whole thing is a mess. I just want to clear it up.”
Mitch burst out laughing. Lucia blinked hard, puzzled.
“And what’s so funny?”
“I can’t believe you think that lowly of me.”
“What?”
“You were sad, frustrated and downright drunk. What makes you think I’ll take advantage of you like that?”
“Are you saying nothing happened?”
Why would you even think that?”
“Because when you came over, you made certain gestures, always referring to my pregnancy and touching my tummy. What else was I supposed to think?”
“I am sorry if I messed with your head. It wasn’t my intention; trust me.”
Lucia sighed in relief.
“Whew…so I didn’t cheat on him, after all.”
“But now that you’re here all sober, we could do a little something,” Mitch said teasingly with a wink. Lucia hit his hand playfully.
“Thank God. You have no idea how much damage my wrong insinuations have caused me.”
“How is Ted taking it?”
“What do you think? If I came all the way here, then you should know how serious it is.”
“I am sorry to hear that. Anything I can do to help?”
“No; I’ll handle it. I created this mess and I’ll fix it myself. I’m sorry for destroying your friendship this time. I’ll do my best to repair the damage.”
“Don’t worry yourself about it. If this hadn’t happen, I’m sure I’d have messed it up myself. I’ve taken his friendship for granted a couple of times and when it came to you, I was ready to do it again. I do have regrets about that but if the opportunity should present itself again, I’m sure I’ll make the same choice. Ted was a wise dude to marry you. You are a precious jewel.”
“Okay, enough with the buttering up. Thanks for being honest with me, Mitch. It means a lot to me. I wish we could put all this behind us and move on.”
“I wish that too.” They smiled at each other.

Ted picked up his phone when it started ringing.
“Hi Doc, what’s up?”
“The results to the paternity test are ready. Wanted to know if I should mail it to you or if you prefer to come pick it up yourself?” Dr. Grant asked, looking at the envelope.
“Um…I’ll come for it. Thanks, doc.”
“How are things between you and Lucia?”
“We’re still married. That’s good news, right?” Dr. Grant chuckled.
“It will get better, Ted. Just take heart. You love each other; you should use its strength to keep you together no matter the odds.”
“Yeah, thanks doc. I’ll come over tomorrow.”
“Okay; see you then. Bye.”

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Kim says:

    Good suspense Joseyphina….:)

    Like

  2. Liz says:

    The story is very interesting and you’re so talented, girl. Keep on writing!

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Liz. Appreciate it.

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

