Love Without Eyes S2 Chapter Twenty


image

Mitch burst into the office and slammed the door, startling Lucia.

“You called my boss to order me back home? You really want me out of here that much?”

“Stop shouting, Mitch. This is an office not some noisy pub.”

“You’re not going to get rid of me that easily, Monique,” he assured her and walked out.

 

Lucia entered her matrimonial home with a grocery bag.

“Honey, I got us the ice-cream you love so much,” Lucia said, dropping her keys onto the key plate.

“Welcome home, Mrs.” Mitch greeted. Lucia paused.

“And what are you doing here?”

“Your husband invited me over. There’s going to be a big football match within the hour so he suggested that we watch it together.”

“Great.”

“Let me help you.”

“Don’t touch me.” Mitch’s hand stayed on the bag as he stared at her.

“What will it take for you to leave us alone?” Lucia asked. Ted came downstairs.

“Hi honey; I thought I heard your voice.” Mitch took the grocery bag from her, earning himself a hot glare from Lucia. He walked into the kitchen. Ted gave her a kiss on the cheek.

“How’s your old man?”

“As fine as he could ever be. You didn’t tell me you were bringing a visitor over.”

“Who, Mitch? I wouldn’t call him a visitor.”

“I know; you know what I mean. I thought we were going to spend the evening chatting and watching TV. I got us ice-cream for crying out loud!”

“I’m sorry, honey. There’s a big football match coming on today and I wanted a guy company. Besides, you don’t like football.”

“Who said? I love football!” Ted raised a brow.

“Which one is showing tonight, EPL or the champions’ league?”

“Oh okay; so you know something about football. But I really want to spend this time with Mitch. It has been a while since I spent time with a buddy.”

Lucia put on a sad face.

“Okay, do you prefer that I kick him out? Because I can easily do that.” Lucia glanced over his shoulder and saw Mitch leaning against the door, with arms crossed, staring at her. She swallowed.

“Fine; you win. But next time, it will be us…alone.”

“Got it. You’re the best,” he said and kissed her on the cheek. Lucia smiled.

“Come on, buddy; it’s almost time,” Ted called out to Mitch.

“I’ll be upstairs.”

“Okay sweetie.” Lucia went upstairs.

“I didn’t disrupt any plans you two might have made, did I?” Mitch inquired.

“Don’t worry; I’ll make it up to her. Come on, sit down.”

Lucia took a shower and then walked into the kitchen for a cup of tea. She decided to keep herself up to date with world news via internet on her tablet. When she was done with her tea and cookies, she washed the mug. She startled when she turned around and saw Mitch.

“You scared me,” Lucia said, trying to find her breath, her hand on her chest.

“I’m sorry; I didn’t mean to. Just came for drinks for the two of us.” He opened the refrigerator and took two cans out and closed it shut.

“You’re turning out to be a worse nightmare than Anita and I never thought that was even possible.”

“You must really care about me to be bothered this much about my presence,” Mitch said. Lucia shook her head.

“Does your brain function upside down? Your mental process is beyond deranged. You need help,” Lucia said, about to walk past him.

“I know there is something between us,” he stopped her by placing his hand on her tummy. Lucia froze.

“Oh yeah, what makes you think that?” Lucia asked, staring hard at him.

“Mitch, where are the drinks, man?” Ted called out.

“I’m coming!”

“The next time you touch me, I’m going to tell my husband and we both know it will not turn out pleasantly,” Lucia threatened and walked out. She went over to where Ted was seated and kissed his forehead.

“Coming to bed anytime soon?” She asked.

“Unfortunately, it’s going into extra time. So I might come in the next…”

“Thirty minutes, I know. I’ll try and wait for you but if I don’t, know that I love you, okay?”

“Yes sweetie.” She kissed him. Their hands slowly parted as Lucia walked away. Mitch walked in and saw Lucia walking up the stairs.

“Goodnight, Monique.”

“Night.”

“At least she responded,” Mitch muttered to himself. He sat down beside his friend and handed over a can to Ted.

 

The following day, Lucia drove to the Peace General Hospital and went to see the obstetrician.

“You and the baby are completely healthy,” she said with a broad smile.

“Um…I have a problem, though.”

“What is it?”

“You see, my husband and I have been having some problems concerning this baby.”

“What kind of problems?”

“The thing is, we didn’t really plan for it and so it is causing some friction since it kind of messes with what we’ve planned together in the short term. So I was thinking, since it is still pretty young, could you help me flush it out?”

“Are you really sure you want to do this?” she asked, concern written all over her face. Lucia nodded.

“Not really but I have to do this for the sake of my marriage. We can always try again when we are both ready.”

“Of course. I advise you go and sleep on it and if you’re still convinced that’s what you really want to do, then we’ll see what to do.”

“Thanks, doctor. I appreciate it.” Lucia got up and left the room. She met Dr. Grant.

“Lucia! What are you doing here?”

“Dr. Grant! I came to see the obstetrician. I hope all is well.”

“It is and how’s married life?”

“As sweet as it should be. I’ve to run; I’ve got some errands to run.”

“Sure; please send my regards to Ted, okay?”

“I surely will. See you later, Dr. Grant,” Lucia said and walked away. The obstetrician came out of the room.

“You just attended to a close friend of mine and a former employee of this hospital. I hope she and the baby are fine,” Dr. Grant inquired.

“They are but…”

“But what?” She sighed.

“I have to respect the doctor-patient confidentiality deal.”

“I know but if there’s a problem, I could help.”

“Yeah, perhaps you could talk her out of it.”

“Out of what?” Dr. Grant asked.

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

