Love Without Eyes S2 Chapter Nine


image

Ted laughed out loud. Lucia gaped in shock.

“Are you laughing? You find this funny, Ted?”

“This is good news, Lucia! Our thorns found each other. Hopefully, they will destroy each other trying to cohabit. This is good news, honey.”

“It wasn’t coincidental, Ted. It wasn’t fate, Anita set it up! Allen said she hit him up on Facebook. She knew who he was. She knows what she’s doing.”

“And what exactly would that be? She’s moving on, I thought you’d be glad about it.”

“I would have if she didn’t orchestrate it herself! She’s trying to get to me.”

“And I must say she has done a fantastic job so far. She is getting to you and I wonder why. Do you still have feelings for that Allen guy?”

“What? No…”

“The guy who physically abused you and cost you your memories?”

“That is not the point here, Teddy!”

“Then what is, Lucia because I don’t get it. Why would you even be bothered about it? Allen is your past and Anita is mine…”

“Uh…probably carrying your baby…I don’t think she’s just your past, Teddy. She is your past, present and possible future!”

“So what, you want to keep Allen at bay so that when things go south for us, you’d run back to him?”

“What? Of course not!”

“Then what is it?”

“I remember the wicked sly grin on her face when Allen introduced us. I’m telling you, she’s up to something!”

“Okay then but I’m not going to lose sleep over Anita and her schemes. I’ve had enough. Don’t give her the satisfaction that she has gotten under your skin. We are together, we are happy. That’s all that matters.” Ted said, holding her face in his palms. Lucia sighed and nodded,

“Okay.”

“Okay.” He kissed her.

“She can’t hurt us anymore. Whatever she’s up to will backfire at her.” She hugged her tightly. “I really want to believe that; I really do.”

For the next two days, Lucia’s phone rang almost a hundred times. She thought she could ignore Allen’s calls and text messages but she thought wrong. When she thought it wise to put it on silent or vibration, she missed two important calls; one from her husband and the other from an associate. When she left it to ring, she got so irritated that she threw her phone hard at the wall before she realized what she had done. She gasped as she got up and went for her phone. She sighed in relief when she still found it in good shape. Before she could rejoice for another minute, the phone beeped and went off.

“Gosh, he has killed my battery!” Lucia fumed. She was grateful that Ted was caught up with work at his father’s company so she was alone there. She knew he would not take it lightly that Allen was cyber-harassing his wife. She just knew she had had enough. She closed from work early and drove to Allen’s apartment. She walked to his door and pounded on the door. It opened.

“Lucia!” She entered.

“What is your problem? Do you want my phone to explode? Why do you keep calling me when I specifically told you not to?”

“Lucia, I’m sorry. I only wanted us to talk things over.”

“I have nothing to talk to you about, Allen. I shouldn’t even be here. If my husband found out, he wouldn’t be amused. So I’m saying this for the very last time, leave me alone and all the best with your Facebook lover,” Lucia said and turned to go.

“Is that Monique’s voice I hear?” Lucia turned to find Anita approaching.

“Oh, so you have been busy…and you used your rest time to terrorize me with your phone calls?” Lucia asked angrily.

“Uh huh, apparently he still has the hots for you since it was your name he screamed out…”

“Anita, enough!”

“What? You what? You do know I’m married, right? Oh gosh, I don’t even want to picture it. And you, I thought you were pregnant for Ted, someone you claim to love very much,” Lucia said with disdain.

“The fact that the heart is satisfied doesn’t mean I should leave the body to starve, should I?” Anita said with a wink. Lucia rolled her eyes.

“I’m leaving.”

“You would be wondering why I chose to be Allen. Since your mother-in-law thought it wise to relieve me of my duties, I found myself another hobby.”

“I can see that.”

“And I seem to remember someone leaving a digital reminder of what they did…”

Lucia turned a fearful glance look at Allen.

“I destroyed it all, Lucia. I promise you that. ”

“Are you sure? I remember you saying…”

“Enough, Anita!” Allen shouted.

“Now listen to me, you witch; I don’t know what your end game is and I really don’t care. But don’t you dare come near me or my husband with your contaminated fetus.”

“Now you watch your mouth, lady.” Anita walked up to Lucia.

“Don’t touch me,” Lucia said, pushing her away. Anita slipped and fell.

“You two losers deserve each other,” Lucia said and walked out. Allen helped Anita up. Anita groaned.

“Are you okay?”

“I think so. Why were you calling her anyway?”

“I wanted to apologize…”

“Apologize for what, for being with me? Are you calling us a crime? I didn’t even take you mentioning her name out in bed an insult but this one certainly is. What do you take me for?”

“I’m sorry Anita; it’s just that I don’t want to lose her friendship.”

“Oh wow I see….why is that everywhere I go, I become the negligible factor? Wait, don’t answer that.” She entered the bedroom and wore her clothes and took her bag.

“Please don’t leave…”

“I’m out of here,” she said and left the apartment.

 
The pain was too much when Anita arrived home. She groaned, trying in vain to assuage the pain with her palm. She felt uncomfortably wet.

“Oh no…” she muttered, panicking at the thought of what that meant. She picked up her phone and called for an ambulance.

“God please, don’t let me lose this baby, please. It’s all I’ve left!”

Tears ran down Anita’s face as she lay on the hospital bed. She felt alone and lonely. How did she end up here? A few months ago, she was happy and content. She had a good job and a rich fiancé. What happened? She wiped the tears from her face. Lucia Monique happened. She took everything away from her down to the wedding dress and ring. The last thing she shared with Ted, a piece of her memories of him…was gone. She was sure it was.

The door opened. The doctor entered.

“I’m sorry Miss Morgan, but you lost the baby. We have to take you into surgery and get the whole thing out.” Anita nodded.

“I’ll call in the nurses to prep you up.” He left her.

Lucia will pay for this. She has nothing to lose now so she can fight her with all she has even if that’s the last thing she’d do in this life.

 
Ted noticed that Lucia was unusually quiet at table. He reached out and touched her hand. She looked at him.

“Are you okay? You seem quiet.”

“I’m okay, Ted. I’ll be fine.”

“Did something happen at the office?”

“No…I went over to Allen’s,” she confessed, dropping her fork.

“Why?”

“He has been calling me nonstop since my meet with him and Anita so I went over to warn him and…”

“And what?”

“Anita was there and we argued.”

“Okay, nothing out of the ordinary. So why do you look worried?”

“At a point, I pushed her and she fell.”

“What? She didn’t seem hurt, did she?”

“I don’t know; I left right after that. I didn’t wait to find out and now I regret it. What if I…”

“Don’t say it; even if it did happen, it would be a good thing.” Ted stroked her hand gently.

“Don’t worry about it.”

The doorbell rang. Lucia got up and went to open the door.

“Are you Lucia Monique Bourbon?”

“Yes…is there a problem?”

“You’re under arrest.”

“What?” Lucia asked, alarm rising in her voice.

“What’s going on?” Ted asked, coming to the door.

“Are you Mr. Bourbon?”

“Yes I am, officer. What is it?”

“Your wife has been charged with assault resulting in the termination of the plaintiff’s pregnancy whom I believe you know, Miss Anita Morgan.” Ted and Lucia glanced at each other in shock.

“I’m sure it is some misunderstanding. I can call this lady and we can sort this out.”

“I’m sorry but you have to come with us, Mrs. Bourbon.” He took out his cuffs.

“Please officer, no cuffs. She’ll go with you with no resistance but please, no cuffs.” He took a look at Lucia who was clearly terrified and agreed.

“You have the right to remain silent or anything else you say might and will be used against you in the court of law.” Lucia nodded, tears forming in her eyes.

“Call my mom, please,” Lucia said to Ted.

“I will. I’m coming with you.”

“You’d have to follow us in your own car, sir.”

“No problem.” Ted hugged his trembling wife and kissed her forehead.

“We’re going to get through this.”

“Let’s go, ma’am.”

Ted grabbed his car key and followed them out.

6 Comments Add yours

    1. joseyphina says:

      Anita can be a handful, can’t she? 🙂

      Like

    2. joseyphina says:

      Anita can be a handful, can’t she? 🙂

      Like

      1. Oh yes, and she is…..:-)

        Like

  1. Kim says:

    Great drama effect Joseyphina…)

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Kim! I’m glad you enjoyed reading.

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

