Love Without Eyes S2 Chapter Eight


image

“It was stupid going against your mother like that. Of course she would lose.”

“And now she’s left with no job. I do not want to cross paths with her anytime soon,” Ted said.

“Me neither. I wonder what she’s scheming now,” Lucia wondered.

“It will be up to no good; that I can assure you. Don’t hesitate to tell me when she accidentally bumps into you or she tries anything funny.”

“I won’t. I’ll stay clear of her.” Ted wrapped his arm around his wife and kissed her forehead.

“Soon and very soon, Anita will be history to us.”

 

Allen was helping himself to a slice of pizza when his phone vibrated. It was a Facebook friend request. He touched the screen to open the page.

“Whoa…pretty girl…” He accepted the request. Few seconds later, it vibrated again with a message pop up.

“Hi.”

“I think she likes me,” He said with a sheepish grin. He responded, “Hi.”

 

Almost two weeks later, Lisa received a phone call from Allen.

“Allen? Hi, long time.”

“Hi Lucia…it’s been a while and I wish we could hang out for a while, you know?” Lucia scowled at the words ‘hang out.’

“Um…hang out, you said?”

“Yeah, just to chat. I found someone.”

“You did! That’s great news, Allen.”

“Yeah and I wanted to tell you about it and maybe you could meet her. I just wish we could start over as friends, you know.” Lucia bit her lower lip.

“Lucia, are you there?”

“Yeah I’m here.”

“So what do you say?”

“I’ll check my schedule and let you know, okay?”

“Okay, will be expecting your call. Take care, Lucia.”

“You too, Allen.” She ended the call.

“Who was that?” Ted asked as he came out of the bathroom.

“Allen,” Lucia replied, dropping her phone on the bed.

“Allen? What does he want?”

“Hang out,” she said, sitting on the bed.

“Hang out?”

“Uh huh, apparently he has a new girl and he wants me to meet her.”

“For what, so you could sign on or off her? Why does he think he needs your approval?”

“I don’t think it’s my approval he seeks. He just wants us to rekindle our friendship.”

“Rekindle, huh? That surely sounds harmless,” Ted said sarcastically.

“Don’t tell me you’re jealous, Ted.” Ted scoffed.

“Why would I be?”

“You sound like you are. Allen is no threat because he’s no match to you.”

“Yeah, but you were with him.”

“Before I met you. Apparently, you opened my eyes.”

“Yeah but old flames always rekindle. He could…”

“Stop it, Teddy! Nothing’s going to happen. I’m with you now and so far I haven’t regretted my decision…not yet anyway.”

“I wish I could tell you that makes me feel better but it doesn’t. I don’t trust him.”

“But you can trust me,” Lucia said, getting up and wrapping her arms around his waist.

“Unlike you, you know I’ll keep my pants on. No offense.”

“None taken.”

“Besides he wouldn’t try anything stupid. He has met you and my mother, and your mother would be next and trust me, he knows not to cross the line.”

“Can’t you just say no?”

“I wish I could but I want to do this. Put all the drama behind us and move on. He’s been a good friend since I lost my memories. So, can I go?”

“Oh, are you asking for permission? I could easily say no, you know.”

“But you are not because you are such an understanding husband and you love me, right?” Ted groaned as he leaned his forehead on hers. Lucia smiled.

“Thanks, honey,” she said gratefully and gave him a quick kiss.

“I’ll head over to my dad’s office during lunch time. He wants me to bring him up to speed concerning the company,” Ted informed her.

“Oh okay, then I’ll go meet Allen then.” She gave him a wide grin. Ted shook his head.

“Aww…you look so cute when you are jealous. I should take a picture,” Lucia said, taking her phone.

“Don’t be silly, Monique.”

“Oh I’m serious. Just in case Allen is winning me over, I just take a look at that cute face of yours and I remember I have a Bourbon sweetheart waiting for me at home. So come on, pout for me.” Ted chuckled.

“Come on, Allen might take my hand and kiss it…”

“What?” There was a flash.

“That’s it. I knew that would work. Come on, I prepared breakfast.”

 

Lucia arrived at the mall a little after 1p.m. She sat at the spot she and Allen usually met and ordered a cocktail.  A few seconds after she had taken in her first sip, her phone beeped. It was a message from Allen informing her he was almost there. Her phone beeped again. She smiled when she read the message from her husband. “Are you there yet?” She typed, “Yes but he isn’t; almost here.”

“Making you wait, too? He’s such a jerk,” Ted typed back. Lucia chuckled.

“Lucia!” She looked up. “He’s here now; talk to you too later, honey,” she typed and sent to him.

“Allen!” They hugged.

“I’m so glad you made it.” They both sat. He ordered a drink.

“So, who’s this new girl?”

“I met her online.”

“Oh, I see; I didn’t know you were into that kind of thing.”

“Not online dating sites; Facebook. She hit me up and it’s been an amazing ride ever since!” Allen said excitedly.

“Oh okay, how long has it been?”

“Almost two weeks.”

“Okay; so have you met her personally?”

“No, I’ll meet her today, here. She’ll be here soon.”

“I see; I’m glad to see you happy, Allen. I really am.”

“Thank you. And how’s married life?”

“It’s great. It’s fulfilling. It is bliss when you marry the right one.”

“Yeah and I messed mine up.” Lucia touched his hand.

“You’ll find yours or let me say, I hope your new hangout is your Miss Right.”

“I hope so too.”

“So what’s up with you? Found any gainful employment?”

“Yeah, something like that. I work at a carwash now.”

“That’s good. Where? Maybe I’ll pass by one of these days.” He chuckled.

“Of course,” he said, taking out a card and giving it to her.

“My boss makes us distribute them as some sort of advertisement.”

“That’s smart,” she said, taking a look at the card.

“Don’t let your husband see that, please? I don’t him want him coming there. It would be awkward.” Lucia laughed.

“I’ll try my best but if he asks, I’d have no choice.”

“Fine.” His phone beeped. He glanced at it.

“She’s here.”

“You know what she looks like?”

“Oh yeah, she has sent me some photos and I must say, she’s hot.”

“Hot doesn’t always mean good, you know.”

“Yeah I know but it is definitely good for the meanwhile,” he said with a wink. Lucia chuckled. Allen got up.

“Let me go and find her; she doesn’t know our spot.”

“Okay.” He touched her shoulder and walked away. Lucia spent her waiting time, sipping her cocktail.

“We are here,” Allen announced behind her. Lucia turned.

“This is…” Lucia took off her dark shades, her jaw dropped.

“Are you okay, Lucia?” Allen asked, noticing her reaction. Lucia got up.

“Tell me this is a joke, and a sick one at that.”

“What are you talking about?”

“Was this a prank, Allen? I thought we were starting over.”

“Hello to you too.”

“Why would you think that? She is the lady I met on Facebook.”

“Who thought of this idea, to bring me here? You or her?”

“I did…what is it, Lucia?” Allen asked, totally lost.

“Let me clarify things for you. We happen to know each other.”

“Oh really, where?”

“I am the girl whose fiancé she stole and married.”

Lucia picked up her bag.

“Don’t you ever contact me again, Allen, is that clear?” Lucia warned and walked off.

“Lucia, wait!” Allen said, going after her.

“Let her go,” Anita said, stopping him by the arm.

“This is our first real date. Let’s not make it ruined already, okay?”

Allen sighed. “Okay, I really wanted her to meet and get to know you.”

“I know and I’m sure we will…later. Come on, let’s sit.” They did.

“So what, you are Ted’s ex?” She nodded.

“So let me formally introduce myself. I’m Anita Morgan.”

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kim says:

    Love the twist…:)

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      I’m glad you do. 🙂

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

