Love Without Eyes S2 Chapter Three


image

Lucia practically spent the whole night awake. Any time she closed her eyes, it was the dream of seeing Ted and Anita together. It has been three days since the wedding and they were now settled in their newly furnished matrimonial home. They had not done much together and it seemed to bother Lucia more than Ted. Just a few days old and they were already not seeing eye-to-eye? This was going to be a long journey.

Lucia opened her eyes to find Ted buttoning up his shirt. She got up.

“Going somewhere?” She asked as she sat up.

“Yeah, to the office.”

“Let me help you with that,” she offered, seeing that he was struggling with the wrist buttons. He walked to her and made her take over.

“Need me in the office today?” she asked.

“Not really; you can come if you want. There’s nothing extraordinary to do today,”

“Okay then I’ll go see my dad then. He wanted me to take care of some business for him today,” Lucia informed him.

“Sure, you should go. You are still his daughter or should I say more of his daughter than a wife to me,” Ted said, not looking at her. She paused.

“What does that mean? Gosh, are you still whining about the consummation thing?”

“Well, in case you didn’t know, a marriage is not official until it has been consummated.”

“I am sorry if I haven’t come around. I still can’t get…”

“Which you have made your sole problem so deal with it!” Ted snapped and took his coat.

“Wait, won’t you take breakfast?”

“I’ll be fine,” he said and walked out. Lucia sighed.

 

About two hours later, Lucia arrived at the office. She almost lost her balance as she was seized with shock at who she saw.

“Hello, Mrs. Bourbon, you look well. Marriage must really be sweet.”

“What are you doing here, Anita?”

“Oh, your hubby called for me.”

“He did.”

“Yep.” Lucia opened the door and entered. Anita followed. Ted looked up.

“Hi honey, thought you wouldn’t make it in today.”

“Yeah, I had to see to a few little things.”

“Okay; have a seat, Anita.” She sat.

“We both know your story of being knocked up is nothing but a cooked-up lie. So to stop anyone from losing any more sleep over this matter, let’s put this issue to rest, shall we?” Ted asked.

“Someone hasn’t been sleeping?” Anita re-echoed gleefully.

“I’ve better things to do with my time lady so please, out with it.”

“What are you expecting me to say, that I lied? Wasn’t the sonogram photo proof enough?”

“You still want to go ahead with that ruse? We both know you can get yourself a sonogram without having to be pregnant,” Lucia said.

“Oh really? That’s news to me. You seem to be speaking out of experience, Monique.  Whoa, what kind of girl did you get married to, Ted?”

“Enough, Anita! I’ll not let you ruin my day anymore. Fine, then we go to plan B. You’ll go for another pregnancy test.”

“Fine…”

“At a hospital of my choosing. And only I get to receive the results.”

“Why?”

“I know how manipulative you can be. I won’t risk you seducing some poor lab technician to falsify the results.”

“Wow…you give me far more credit than I’m worth, Ted.”

“Don’t flatter yourself, Anita. It wasn’t a compliment. And if it is confirmed, then we will have a paternity test in due time. Understood?”

“For a newlywed, you don’t seem so pleasant. Did something go wrong during the honeymoon?” Anita asked.

“That’s none of your business, Anita,” Lucia said.

“Some documents you refused to sign, perhaps?”

“That will be all, Anita. You can leave now,” Ted cut in.

Anita smiled slyly and walked out. Lucia took some files from the table and scanned through. She muttered something under her breath and closed them.

She glanced at her husband who was busily working on his computer.

“Are you okay? You looked like you didn’t sleep last night,” Lucia remarked.

“Did you…sleep last night?” He asked her, looking at her. He went back to work when she didn’t answer.

“Ted…”

“I’m working, Lucia.”

“Come to think of it, with all the haze of getting married, we didn’t really consider signing anything.”

“Like what?” Ted asked, not looking at her.

“Like a prenuptial…” He looked sharply at her.

“You wanted a pre-nup?”

“No, not really; but most people do sign them before they get married just in case.”

Ted paused.

“So what, you want a post-nuptial agreement? I could get that sorted out if you want,”

“I don’t know…”

“What do you want, Lucia?”

“Why are you being so cold towards me, Ted?”

“I’m not being cold. I’m just…frustrated. It just seems you are way overwhelmed by this whole marriage thing. So if you want out, we can easily annul this since we are not even officially married,”

“And we are back to the sex? Ted, do you always get this grumpy when you’re being denied?” Lucia asked, surprised.

“Oh don’t flatter yourself. Don’t think you gain anything by withholding sex. I can always get it elsewhere and I necessarily don’t have to pay for it.” Lucia gasped. Her jaw dropped wide.

“Ted…”

“Don’t you have some errands to run for you dad, Lucia?”

She stared at him, tears forming in her eyes. Ted ignored her, resuming his work on the computer. Lucia took her bag and left the office.

Lucia entered her parents’ house. Her mother walked to her and hugged her.

“How’s my baby doing?” Lucia forced a smile.

“How was the honeymoon? Was it enchanting? Are you pregnant already?” Mrs. Baker asked, touching her daughter’s tummy.

“No mother; I kind of messed it up.”

“Messed what up?”

“Everything, our honeymoon, our marriage, everything.” They sat.

“What do you mean? You fought on your wedding night? Ted’s mother told me something about Anita.” She nodded.

“How bad was it?”

“It wasn’t the fight exactly…I did something stupid.”

“What did you do, Monique?”

“I was tormented by…I…we…didn’t…seal the deal?”

“What does that mean?”

“We didn’t…consummate…” Lucia said with a flinch, waiting for her mother’s response. Her mother gasped.

“Lucia Monique Baker! What the hell is wrong with you? How could you deny your newly wedded husband your body? You’re lucky he hasn’t left you already! You know that makes your marriage incomplete, right?”

“Yes I know; he’s angry and I don’t know how to correct the mistake.”

“Are you kidding? Just get naked and do it already!”

“It’s not that easy, mum. He wouldn’t even look at me.”

“You are a Baker lady, figure it out. Now come and taste what I tried yesterday. You’ll love it,” she said, pulling Lucia up. They walked to the kitchen.

 

Ted entered his new home. He walked into the bedroom and sat on the bed. He began to take off his shoes. He looked up when the bathroom door opened. Lucia startled when she saw him.

“Wow…I wasn’t expecting you back so early.”

“It’s 6:30.  How late were you expecting me?” He glanced at her.

“Why are you in your lingerie by the way? Isn’t it too early for bed?”

“I was trying them on.” He got up. She walked to him.

“Ted, I know I messed up our wedding night and I robbed us both of a long-awaited memory and I’m deeply sorry. I wish I could turn back the hands of time but I can’t. I still see disturbing images whenever I close my eyes but I want to forget. And I can only do that if I move on with you. So can we please have a do-over?” Lucia apologized. He stopped her when she tried to unbutton his shirt.

“Sorry, I can’t. I’m not in the mood.”

“Not in the mood? You’re a guy. You’re always in the mood. I just have to…”

“Don’t touch me.” Lucia froze.

“You ruined us even before we got started and I don’t know how you can fix that.”

“We can still work it out.”

“Not like this; I didn’t want our first night to be like this.”

“I’m sorry…”

“So am I,” he said and entered the bathroom. Tears fell down Lucia’s face as she dropped herself on the bed helplessly.

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

