June Is For Fathers!


image

We are in the new month of June and I personally want to call it the “Fathers’ Month” just as this past month of May is usually dedicated to our wonderful mothers. It is no secret that fathers are not as appreciated as their mothers because most often than not, they are virtually absent in the upbringing of their children.

image
Says the father!

Nonetheless, you and I would not be here today without the element of a father. And it does not just end there. Their protection, provision and chastening have been essential in how we turned out to be.

Most of us are more inclined to our mothers because they comforted us when we were sad or ill and such intimate moments have since remained cherished to us. Although there are some dads who dote on their kids, most of them do not. That do not mean they do not love us any less.

image

They are mostly quiet and seemingly oblivious to how we are faring at school. He is quiet because he knows you are fine and that makes him satisfied. He only talks when he suspects that you are going astray and so has to bring you back on track; or he realizes you have great potential in something and hence challenges you to take it more seriously. We the children sometimes wrongly interpret his actions as “never satisfied with what I do; always expects more.” Thank God for fathers! If they hadn’t pushed us, we would not be where we are today.

image
That’s what my dad is to me.

They may not express their affection by blowing us kisses or cooking us dinner but they ensuring that we get the best of education and the most comfortable life to the best of their abilities is their own unique way of telling us how precious we are to them.

image

So in this blessed month of June, I want to reflect on all the sweet and harsh things my father has done to me and thank him for that. For being as strict as he was so I would not take life lightly, he needs to be appreciated. Our relationship may not be as emotionally bounding as that of myself and my mother but I do not love him any less. I do not remember ever giving him anything on Father’s day but I’m surely going to start.

image
Photo credits to Google Images.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. I love the post and the message Phina…thanks for sharing! Have a wonderfully blessed week ahead!

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Wendell and have a wonderful week too! 🙂

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

