Love Without Eyes Chapter Forty Four


image

Lucia peered outside when it began to rain heavily. She began to pull the curtains together.

“It is going to be very cold tonight,” she said in an unamused tone.

“I love it when it gets cold. It makes the sleep sweeter,” Ted remarked. Lucia glanced at him. He winked at her.

“I shiver when it is cold; my sleep doesn’t seem to co-exist well with cold weather. I can only have one at a time, never both.”

“Oh, too bad…but I can keep you warm if you want. I do have a very warm body,” Ted offered. Lucia sat down.

“No thanks; we agreed that we would not sleep on the same bed.”

“And why is that exactly? Is it because you’re afraid that we would end up sleeping together?” Ted asked.

“I’m not afraid…I’m just taking precaution.”

They watched a talk show together which got them chatting and arguing from time to time. Lucia was yawning when it ended. She got up.

“I think I’ll retire to bed now. I can hardly keep my eyes open,” she said. Ted came out of the kitchen.

“So soon? I just got us ice-cream,” Ted said, licking some from a spoon.

“Maybe tomorrow,” Lucia said sleepily.

“Just a little taste,” Ted coaxed, bringing the spoon closer to her mouth. Lucia opened it and licked the spoon clean.

“Good, huh?” She nodded, taking in another spoonful.

“It was the flavor I picked. Let me get us more,” Ted said, pulling Lucia to the kitchen. Lucia sat on the table whiles Ted fetched for the ice-cream from the fridge. He resumed feeding her.

“You know, this isn’t really helping the situation. My eyes are still on hibernation.”

“Don’t worry, a half-asleep fiancée eating ice-cream with me is all I need right now.” Lucia chuckled. Ted wiped the side of her mouth with his thumb. She held his wrist, making him look at her.

“Why me?” She asked.

“Why you what?”

“Why did you choose me?”

“Because when I thought it was all over for me, you were the one there to hold my hand and give hope to love again.”

“Lucky me,” Lucia said smiling with half-closed eyes. Ted placed the ice-cream down and kissed her.

“Are you sending me to bed?” She asked.

“In a moment,” he whispered and kissed her again. After some moments, Lucia pulled back.

“Ted, no.”

“Don’t worry, I won’t take it far,” Ted said and kissed her again. She pulled back.

“What, don’t you trust me?” Ted asked.

“Of course I do. It is me I don’t trust.” Lucia got down from the table.

“If I let you kiss me again, I won’t let you stop until we’ve gone the whole nine yards and I don’t think you want that,” Lucia said.

“I honestly don’t see the problem with that.” They both chuckled. Lucia kissed him.

“Goodnight, honey. See you in the morning,” she said and entered her room. Thunder and lightning had joined the downpour now. Lucia clutched to the covers tightly. The lights went out. Lucia screamed.

“Are you okay?” Ted asked from his room.

“The lights are out.”

“Um…yeah, I can see that. Will you be okay?” The door to his room opened.

“I’m not a fan of darkness…not at all. I’m sure there’s a generator somewhere. Please let’s go and find it.”

“What’s the point? You’ll close your eyes when you sleep, right? You don’t leave your light on when you sleep, do you?” Ted asked.

“Of course I don’t; this is different. Come on, get up,” Lucia insisted, pulling him from the bed. Ted got up reluctantly.

“Where do you have it kept?”

“I don’t know.”

“So how do you expect me to find it in this darkness? We could get ourselves hurt walking around blind like that.”

“You’re a guy; you should find your way around.” Ted chuckled.

“I’m not going to look for something that I have no idea where it is kept. Go and lie down, you’ll be fine.”

“I can’t…I’m not a big fan of thunder and lightning either,” Lucia said childishly.

“Okay, fine. How about I keep you company till you fall asleep? Does that sound okay to you?” Knowing there was no other choice, she nodded.

“Great. So, you want to lie here or should I take you to your room?”

“If I sleep here, then you won’t leave when I fall asleep, will you?”

“Your room it is.”

They settled comfortably on the bed. Ted pulled her into his arms such that her back touched his chest.

“What are you doing?” She asked.

“Keeping you warm; why should you be shivering when I’m here?”

Lucia conceded when she realized how cozy warm it was being in his arms. After a few minutes of silence, she asked, “What are you doing?”

“What?”

“You’re breathing on my neck.”

“Well, it is because my nose happens to be near your neck. Get some sleep.”

“I’m nagging, huh?”

“What do you think?” She chuckled. He kissed her neck.

“Get some sleep.” For the next minute, all Lucia could hear was the beating of her heart. Without thinking twice, she turned around and kissed Ted. He was surprised. Before he could ask why, she kissed him again.

“Hey…I thought you said…” Ted whispered.

“Yeah, I know what I said,” Lucia replied and kissed him again. The lights came on.

“I think that’s my cue to leave,” Ted said, getting up.

“Wait,” Lucia said, pulling him back. He looked at her, puzzled.

“I’m kind of enjoying your warmth.”

“Are you okay? You’re beginning to scare me,” Ted said.

“Oh yeah, I think it is the ice-cream. Don’t worry, I won’t harass you anymore. Please…” They lay down. Lucia held on the arm around her and closed her eyes.

 

Anita sat on her bed, tears in her eyes as she glanced at the wedding invitation in her hand. She set it on fire with a lighter and watched it go up in flames.

 

“Wake up, sleepy head,” Ted said, shaking Lucia by the arm. Lucia opened her eyes.

“Breakfast?”

“No, get up and wash your face. We have a video conference in fifteen minutes.”

“What?”

“You heard me. I just saw the mail from the secretary.” Lucia groaned.

“I thought you were going to serve me breakfast in bed.” Ted chuckled.

“What movie did you dream of last night?”

“It is not a movie! That is what guys do for their ladies in the morning.”

“Yeah, most of the time, they would have had sex the night before so they do that to say thank you,” Ted said, buttoning his shirt up. Lucia gasped in shock.

“So are you admitting that you’re denying me breakfast because I wouldn’t give you sex?”

“It is only fair, right?” he asked.

“You’re mean!” Lucia shouted and threw herself back on the bed.

“Hey!” Ted pulled the covers off her.

“Get up and get dressed.”

“I thought we came here to take time off from work.”

“That’s not exactly true. Hurry up.” Ted left the room. Lucia got up and entered the bathroom.

Ted gaped in surprise when Lucia entered the living room.  She wore a dress over her nightdress. She sat down beside him.

“All they need to see is up here, right?” Ted chuckled. He brushed his hands over her hair.

“That’s better.” His phone beeped. He took it.

“They are live? Thanks,” Ted said and ended the call. Ted opened up the chat in Skype.

When it ended, Lucia got up.

“That went well, right?” Ted asked.

“Yeah, I’m starving. Hey, I had a weird dream about Anita.”

“What was she doing in your head?”

“I wonder myself.” Ted got up and held her.

“She has no business in that pretty head of yours.” He kissed her.

“Go and take a shower whiles I prepare us breakfast,” Ted said.

“You’re going to prepare breakfast?” Lucia asked, excited. He nodded.

“If it makes my sweetheart happy.”

“It surely does!” She kissed him. She rushed into the room.

“If only you consider hot water and frozen bacon to be breakfast…”

“Ha-ha…very funny,” Lucia said back.

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

