Love Without Eyes Chapter Thirty Two


image

“Come in,” Ted said when he heard a knock on his door. The door opened and he heard footsteps approaching him. His eyes were glued to some papers in front of him. The steps stopped.

“Okay, I’ll be done with these documents in a few minutes so you hand me the ones you have and I’ll get back to you,” he said, offering his hand, expecting the file to be dropped in it.

“Hey,” he said, snapping his fingers, “I don’t have much time. Let me have it already,” he said, still not looking up. She cleared her throat. Ted looked up when he realized that was not the person he had expected.

“Lucia,” he said in an apologetic tone, getting up.

“Are you that mean in your office? I now understand where Anita picked up the trait,” Lucia remarked.

“Don’t mind me; I thought it was her. I’m so glad you’re here. I can’t believe you actually came.” They hugged.

“Yeah, I can’t believe myself too but I’ve been raised to know that Bakers always keep their word.” She sat. Ted leaned on the desk with crossed arms.

“I see; good to know.”

“It is a nice place. This is my first time here. Your dad did a good job setting up this place,” Lucia complimented.

“Thank you; I’ll relay your compliments to him.” She smiled.

“Are you on your way to our office?” He asked coyly.

“No, that’s why I’m here. I wanted you to have these documents to go through before I mail them to Mr. Scott,” Lisa said, taking a file out of her bag and giving it to Ted. He sighed as he took them.

“When do you need them back?”

“Not immediately so take your time. I can see you’re already swamped here. He gave me to the end of next week so no pressure at all,” she assured him.

“Okay, that will do,” He said, dropping it on his desk.

“So where are you off to?”

“My dad asked me to meet up with one of his associates. I can foresee a very long day today. I’ll be on my way,” she said, getting up.

“So when will our next date be?” He asked.

“Date, are we dating?” He laughed.

“I’ll see you at the office maybe tomorrow,” she said as she hugged him.

“You still haven’t answered me, Lucia.”

“That’s because I don’t remember you asking me out, Ted Bourbon.”

“Oh, you want it official now?”

“You know, so as to have it in the records…my parents will demand for every invoice.” He laughed.

“Okay; I’ll start preparations for the inauguration very soon.”

“Good.”

“How soon do you want the launch to take place?”

“Well, the sooner the better, right? You don’t want our parents taking matters in their own hands and planning everything, do you? At least, it would be said, we steered affairs the way we wanted.”

“I like the way you make it sound all business-like.”

“We are the future of the Bourbon and Baker empires. We have to sound like it,” she said with a wink. He pulled her into his arms for another hug.

“You know I have to go, right?” She asked.

“I know; I wish I could keep you here…on my shelf like a teddy bear.”

“Are you serious? I’m leaving,” she said, turning away. He held her hand, pulling her back. She fell back into his arms, their lips meeting. Ted wrapped his arms around her waist and she did the same around his neck.

The door opened and Anita entered.

“Whoa!” They broke apart.

“Sorry, am I interrupting something? Please, do not stop on my account,” Anita said. Lucia covered her mouth with the back of her hand.

“What do you want, Anita?” Ted asked, his arms still around Lisa’s waist. Anita noticed that.

“I was dropping in the other file you requested but I guess you already have your hands full. I must say, this is the first time I’ve caught you in a compromising unprofessional position, sir. You never did that with me.”

“Well, when you meet the right one, doing the wrong thing at the wrong time doesn’t feel wrong anymore. I highly suggest you find yours, Anita.”

“Oh but I did until the bridesmaid stealthily snatched him from me right before the wedding. Sounds like a romantic comedy gone bad,” Anita said, making a disgusted face.

“No one stole anyone from you, Anita. I’d say I was generous enough to let you play around him for a while. You had your fun and now it is time for you to step aside,” Lucia said with a straight face. Ted smiled proudly.

“Let me just say this, it is not over,” Anita said.

“Oh but it is; even our parents are meeting up and making plans. I don’t know what you can do to stop anything,” Ted said. Anita was taken aback by the comment. She dropped the file on the desk and walked out of the office, slamming the door.

“Hey, I’m going to deduct the pending damage from your salary!” Ted shouted. Lucia laughed.

“Whew! That was intense,” Lucia said, sighing.

“But you did well, standing up to her like that. I do need someone like that by my side,” Ted said admiringly.

“Uh huh; let me leave before Anita enters and pours water on me.” Ted laughed.

“Let me take you to your car,” he offered.

“Oh no, I’ve distracted you enough. Go back to your work. I’ll be fine. And if I encounter scary Anita…well, I have you on speed dial.”

“Good.” He kissed her cheek. “Take care.”

“You too,” She left his office.

 

Lucia picked up the phone in her office.

“Okay, send him in,” she said, putting the phone down. The door opened and Allen entered. She scowled.

“What audacity do you think you have to show your face here?” she asked.

“Lucia, we need to talk.”

“No, we don’t. I thought I made that pretty clear the last time we spoke. I want you out by the end of this minute, Allen.”

“If it weren’t important, I wouldn’t come here. Trust me, I wish I didn’t have to show up here…especially with the news I have.”

“What news, that there’s finally a warrant on your head? Good, I think I’ll drink to that,” she said sarcastically. Allen said.

“Please listen. My place was raided yesterday and I lost some items.”

Lucia half-chuckled.

“And you believe that is of interest to me because…”

“I lost some personal tapes.”

“Okay, what has that got to do with me?”

“When I say personal, I mean most them involved both of us.”

“Huh?”

“I don’t know how to put this…”

“Wait, you mean, we made tapes together when we were…together?”

“Yeah but not all of them.”

“I don’t understand.”

“I made some of them without your knowledge,” Allen confessed.

“You made videos of me without my consent?” He nodded with guilt.

“What kind of tapes?” He didn’t answer. Lucia stood up slowly.

“Allen, answer me. What kind of tapes are you talking about?”

Allen looked up at her, with remorse-filled eyes.

“I believe you have an idea of exactly what I’m referring to here, Lucia,” Allen said. Lucia’s eyes widened with shock. She slammed herself back into her seat.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh wow, getting oh so good and he comes with this…

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      I know, right? 🙂

      Like

  2. Kim says:

    Great twist in the story….:)

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Kim. 🙂

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

