Love Without Eyes Chapter Sixteen


image

Lucia entered the Bourbon company premises. She rubbed her hands nervously as she got into the elevator.
“Monique Baker? Sure, let her in,” Ted said and put the phone down. The door opened and she entered. He stood.
“Miss Baker…it’s an honor to have you in my office. Is there anything I can help you with?” Ted asked. Lucia only stared at him. It was really him.
“Are you okay?” he asked.
“Yes, there’s something you need to know.”
“Okay, what is it?”
“I know you have a lot of questions to ask…” The door opened and Anita entered.
“Hello darling,” she said with smiles as she walked towards Ted and kissed him. Lucia bit her lip and stepped back. Ted glanced at Lucia.
“Okay, so what did you want to tell me?” Ted asked. Lucia glanced at the both of them. She shook her head.
“Nothing…it is nothing. I just wanted to tell you how privileged I feel to be working with you, Ted Bourbon.”
“The feeling is mutual, Monique Baker,” Ted said with a smile.
“I’ll leave you two then. Have a nice day,” she said and walked out of the office. She exhaled deeply when she closed the door behind her. She didn’t even realize she was withholding her breath. She walked away.
“I hope you had a great time last night,” Anita said, wrapping her arms around Ted’s neck.
“Yes I did.” They hugged.

The next few hours became unbearable for Lucia with constant headaches with flashes of her lost memory. She splashed water on her face in the washroom and inhaled deeply. “What is happening to me?” she asked herself, almost panicking. Flashes of Ted holding her hand and touching her face in the hospital came to mind. She groaned as a sharp pain slashed through her head. She splashed more water on her face. There was a knock on the door. “Yeah?”
“It’s me, honey. Are you okay?” Her father asked.
“Yeah, you can come in. No one else is here.” He entered.
“What’s going on? You don’t seem to be yourself today.”
“I have a terrible headache, dad. I feel like my head is going to split open the next minute.” He touched her forehead.
“But you were fine this morning.” “Yeah…maybe it is because I’m getting flashes of my lost memory.”
“Is that true? Then you should go and see a doctor. Do you want me to go with you?”
“No, you’ve got lots of work to do. I’ll go by myself.”
“Are you sure?”
“Yes, dad. I’ll meet you at home.” “Okay; be careful.”
“I will; you too, dad.” He left the washroom. Lucia stared at her reflection in the mirror. Why do I feel like regaining my memories is going to cause me more harm than good?
A thought struck her. She took out her phone and scrolled down the screen to find Dr. Grant’s number. She was about to hit the dial icon but she stopped herself. She smiled at herself in the mirror.
“I’d just have to pay my past a visit.” She stepped out of the washroom.  

The trip to the hospital turned out to be a bittersweet experience. Every turn she took brought quick new flashes of her lost memories which brought with them an agonizing headache. Some of the nurses waved at her, others just nodded with a smile. She felt good to be back.
“Lucia?” She turned.
“It is you! I thought you had disappeared from the surface of the earth!” Cindy said happily as she hugged Lucia.
“Then I guess you didn’t look that hard for me.”
“Guilty as charged. How are you, by the way? You look great.” “Thank you; I’m fine. I’m back at my parents’.”
“That was wise. That boyfriend of yours was of no good.” Lucia was lost for a second. Cindy could read the confusion on her face. “Don’t tell me you’re still seeing that guy.”
“Oh no I’m not.”
“Very good. Why are you here, by the way?”
“To see Dr. Grant.”
“Sure; let me take you to his office. And lest I forget, Ted has been coming here, asking of you.” Lucia stopped.
“Really? When?”
“The last time I saw him here was a few weeks ago but I do know he meets up with Dr. Grant from time to time and I’m sure it’s mainly because of you.”
“I see.”
“Nurse Cindy, I need help over here, please.”
“Sure. You do remember where to find Dr. Grant’s office, right?” “Of course I do. I’ll catch up with you later, Cindy.”  

Lucia paused in front of Dr. Grant’s office and sighed. She raised her hand and after a second of hesitation, she knocked.
“Come in,” a grim voice answered. She entered.
“Miss Baker! I must say I wasn’t expecting to see you anytime soon. Please have a seat.” “Thank you, doctor.” She sat. “Should I get you something?” “No, I’m fine. I’m here for a check-up actually.”
“Check-up, are you okay?”
“Well, I guess I have to tell you all that has happened so far so you would understand. I had an accident of some sort and I lost my memories in the process.” “What? Is that why you never came back?”
“Yeah; my parents took me back in and catered for me. Now, my memories seem to be coming back but I’m having unbearable headaches, doctor. I didn’t think that regaining memories would be this painful.”
“It is not supposed to be. I’ll run some tests and find out what’s going on.”
“Thanks, doctor.”
“So, what exactly do you remember now?”
“Almost everything; a few things are still blurry.”
“So you remember working here?”
“Yes I do.”
“Anything else?” he asked cautiously. Lisa chuckled knowingly.
“If you’re implying whether I remember Ted Bourbon, the answer is yes.”
“Oh great. So, have you contacted him yet?”
“I have.”
“And?”
“Well the thing is, he is back together with Anita his girlfriend so there’s nothing I can really do.”
“He is? He didn’t mention that.” “My guess it happened just last night.”
“I see. But I guess you two still have a lot to catch up on. You two became quite close till you disappeared.”
“Um…doctor, I need you to promise me something.”
“What is it?”
“Please don’t tell him about who I am and my accident.”
“What do you mean?”
“He still doesn’t know who I am. He has met me, yes but he doesn’t know I’m Lucia.”
“What? Why? What alias did you use?”
“Not an alias, really. It is kind of a long story for another time. Can you promise me that?”
“Lucia, Ted has been waiting for you for a long time now…”
“Dr. Grant, please! I blurting out my identity isn’t going to help anyway. He seems happy right now and I don’t want to ruin it.” “Sure; whatever you say. I must say that you’re putting me in a very difficult position.”  She sighed in relief.
“Can I take the tests now?” “Sure; let’s go.”  

Dr. Grant entered his office where Lucia was waiting. He gave her some pills.
“It is nothing abnormal. Take this whenever they come on strongly and take a lot of rest. They will soon go away for good.” “Thanks, doctor. I need to go now.” She stood up.
“So where are you working now?” “I’m sorry I can’t tell you. If I do, I know you’ll definitely tell Ted and he’ll figure out who I am and I can’t have that. But I promise I will tell him the truth at the right time.”
“I’m counting on it.”
“Bye, doctor.”
“Bye, Lucia.”            

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow! Can’t blame him for moving on! But why her again! Can’t wait to see what happen next! Hope all is well on your end! GOD Bless

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yes, things are great. Hope you’re good as well. Stay blessed!

      Like

  2. Glad to hear it, trying stay warm! GOD Bless

    Like

  3. Kim says:

    Still loving it Joseyphina….looking forward to chapter 17….:)

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Kim! 🙂

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

