Love Without Eyes Chapter Nine


Red-Rose-Valentines-Day-Flowers-Photography-Picture-

Dr. Grant entered the exam room to find a smiling Ted seated on the bed. His face held an elated but anxious countenance.
“Ted Bourbon, good to see you again! I must say I missed your presence around here. How are you doing?”
“I’m doing well. I’m here for my check-up as scheduled. How are things around here?”
“As usual; comes with its drama.” He checked his pupils. There was a pause.
“And Lucia? Is she back yet?”
“No, she’s not.”
“She’s still sick?”
“Well, I can’t tell for sure. Her mother called to inform me that Lucia wouldn’t be working here anymore because her accident has rendered her unable to do so any longer.”
“Unable? What happened to her?”
“She refused to give me details but it must be serious.”
“So…does that mean I would never get to meet her?” Ted asked after a hard swallow.
“I’ll tried calling her but I believe her number is out of service. So I’ll ask for her new contact number from her mother and let you have it.”
“Thanks, Dr. Grant. I wish I knew where she was right now.”
“I understand. Lucia was an exceptional nurse over here. Her relations with patients have always been exemplary and her case with you is no exception. She’ll truly be missed.” He sighed.
“Okay…seems you’re good to go. As far as I’m concerned, your eyes are in perfect shape.”
“Thanks.” Ted sat up and buried his face in his palms. Dr. Grant patted his back.
“I’m sure you’ll meet her soon, Ted.”
“I hope so because I feel like I’ve this heaviness in here which makes it hard for me to breathe every time I’m reminded of the fact that Lucia is out there somewhere and I can’t get to her. I just want to breathe well again and I know I’ll never be able to do that till I see her,” Ted remarked as he hit his chest repeatedly.
“It sounds like you’re in love with her.”
“Maybe I am but I have to meet her again to be sure of it.”
“I’ll get you her number, Ted.”
“Thank you.”

Allen literally dropped his jaw open when his eyes beheld the home of Lucia’s parents. Lucia’s mother glared at him.
“I’m sure you’ve heard the saying that staring is rude,” she pointed out.
“I wasn’t…staring at you,” Allen said.
“You’re staring at my home and that is rude as well.”
“I’m sorry.” He glanced at Lucia who only smiled.
“It’s okay; she can be a little mean sometimes,” Lucia assured him.
“You…remember?”
“It’s coming back…in flashes. I do remember my parents and this place as my home.”
“Come to think of it, you need to go back to wherever she was staying and pack up her things. Bring them here, ok?” Mrs. Baker ordered Allen.
“Yes ma’am.”
“Mum…I don’t think that’s very necessary. I’m not moving back in.”
“That’s not up for discussion, honey. Help her inside, will you?”
Allen nodded and gently helped Lucia enter the mansion.
“Where’s daddy?” Lucia asked.
“He’s out of the country but he’ll be back this weekend. Do you want something to eat or drink? You look exhausted,” her mother said, taking a good look at Lucia.
“I am exhausted. I think I’ll go and take a nap.”
“Good idea. Help her upstairs, will you?”
“Yes ma’am,” Allen said and held Lucia.
Lucia sighed when she lay on her bed.
“Feels good, huh?” Allen asked.
“Huh?”
“I mean, it feels good to be back home, right? Lying on your big bed and all…”
Lucia looked at him, confused.
“Tell me how my life was a week ago.” Allen pocketed his hands.
“Well, you were a modest girl living on an honest income working as a nurse…”
“A nurse? Really? Gosh, I hate hospitals!”
“Well you did and you kind of liked it.”
“Which hospital?”
“Peace General.”
“Well, that is a respectable place to work but seriously as a nurse? And my parents let me? Wow…I wish I could remember everything.”
“I think it is good you’re back home. You do belong here not out there.”
“Thanks for being here with me…for me. With your help, I could regain the rest of my memories.” Allen gave her a tight smile with lingering thoughts of his own.
“I’ll always be here for you, Lucia…”
“Monique,” her mum corrected as she entered the room.
“She’s now to be called Monique.”
“Yes ma’am.”
“Come on mum, my name is still Lucia.”
“It is but I like Monique better. It carries a certain sense of class.” Lucia rolled her eyes.
“What are you still doing here? Didn’t I tell you to go get her things from wherever she was hiding?”
“Of…of course…I’m on my way. See you, Lucia,” He said hastily and rushed out of the room.
“Her name is Monique! Oh no, where did you meet this guy? He’s dumber than he looks!”
“Stop it, mum. Being mean isn’t that appealing.”
“Well, it gets some work done faster than usual. It is good to have you back home, my love. I know your father will be delighted to see you again after all this while.”
Lucia smiled. Her mother’s phone rang. She answered.
“Hello…yes, this is Mrs. Baker speaking. Who is this?”
“This is Dr. Grant from the hospital where Lucia used to work. I’m calling to check up on her. Hope she’s doing better now.”
“Yes she is, doctor. Thank you for calling in.”
“May I speak with her?”
“I’m sorry; she’s resting at the moment.”
“Okay; may I have her contact number so I may call her in person next time?”
“I’m sorry doctor but that won’t happen and please don’t call this number again.” She canceled the call.
“Who was that?” Lucia asked.
“The doctor you used to work with. He seems interested in you. I wonder why; he’s older than you are.”
“It could be he’s just concerned, mother.”
“Maybe; anyway, that is all behind you now. You’re going to start afresh.”
“I strangely like the sound of that,” Lucia admitted.
“That’s good. Let me leave you to rest then. I’ll see you later.”
“Okay.” She left the room and closed the door.

Anita entered Ted’s office.
“The McLean owners are on their way up.”
“So?”
“So please come over to the conference room.”
“Let me know when they are settled in. I’ll meet them there…”
“But Ted…”
“I’ll appreciate if you call me by my surname, Miss Morgan.”
“Seriously? Aren’t we way past that?”
“Well sometimes it helps to go back to the basics, don’t you think?”
“Fine…it will be prudent for you to be seated…”
“I said I’ll be there when they get here. Now get out of my office, Ms. Morgan.”
She left. His phone rang. He took it.
“Dr. Grant…please tell me you have good news?”
“Unfortunately I don’t, Ted. Her mother wouldn’t allow me to speak to her and wouldn’t give me her number as well. She told me not to call her number ever again.”
“What? Why?”
“I don’t know; I wonder what is going on.”
“Okay; thanks. I’ve to go. I’ll call you later.” He canceled the call.
“Come out of whatever hole you’ve hidden yourself, Lucia. I need you right now,” he said to himself as got up and left his office.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Kim says:

    Great Job again Joseyphina….looking forward to chapter 10…..:)

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      Coming soon, Kim 🙂

      Like

  2. Wonderful ! You’ve got me on a string! Terrific interplay!

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh….am so glad! 🙂

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

