How Much of Yourself…


I started life wanting to experience it all;
All of me and none of You was my goal;
A little bite of this and a little taste of that;
Felt I had to try whatever the world had to offer;

Soon I came to realize I was losing myself little by little;
So I decided: a little bit of You and a little bit of me;
After all, balance is everything; I believed;
Wanted to enjoy the best of both worlds;

Then I found out I was only deceiving and hurting myself;
More of You and less of me was the new standard;
Would be more of a good girl and keep things on a low key;
What was I thinking?

This was until I totally fell in love with You;
So all of You and none of me, I pray;
Burn out the chaff of any worldly desires I still may have;
And use all of me for Your glory and yours alone;

Photo Credits to Google (c) Images.

I’ve come a long way to realize and understand this Love;
And I’m still learning;
The dimensions are hugely infinite;
But I’m glad I came to know this wonderful Lover of my soul.

How much have you surrendered to Him?
None, little, a bit more or all of yourself?
Happy with what you’ve given Him so far?
He who gave his whole self to redeem you from death;

Doesn’t He deserve a total surrender of self too?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Lester Young says:

    Yes, He does. Well done, J!

    Lester

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Lester! Your encouraging comments always inspire me to write more. God bless you.

      Like

  2. The surrendering is something that is done in a moment, but must be repeated. I am so thankful that the Lord never gives up on us even when we go astray. He helps us to surrender.

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      Very true….His grace is a gift we’ ll forever be indebted to.

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

