Leave To Cleave


Two gold rings - reflected candles

Prologue

Lisa put off the engine and hastily drew out her car key. She stepped out and the sound of the doors locking rang in the air. She rushed to the front door and realized it was unlocked. She entered.
“Honey… I’m sorry….” She stopped herself in surprise at what she saw.
“Welcome home, darling,” Ethan said with a charming smile. He had the dinner table set up with soft candle light.
“Oh honey….” She said breathlessly as she dropped her bag.
“I’m so sorry I couldn’t make it in time to prepare dinner…”
“Shush…it’s okay… I understand,” he said coolly as he held her cheeks.
“We both have busy schedules but you always manage to get home to prepare us dinner and I want you to know I appreciate that. Now I want to show you how much I care by cooking us dinner tonight. It has been a while since I did that, you know.”
Lisa smiled, feeling relief.
“Okay.”
“Good; let’s get you seated at the table.” He pulled the chair for her. She sat down.
“Wow… are you sure you prepared all this?”
“Don’t doubt my culinary skills, my dear,” Ethan said as he sat.
“Mmm….this tastes good.”
“I knew you’d like it.”
“And I do; it’s perfect, Ethan.” He smiled with contentment.
After dinner, Lisa went to change clothes whiles Ethan cleared the table. He was about to open the tap when she entered.
“Don’t bother doing that; I’ll take care of it. You go and take a shower,” Lisa said.
“It doesn’t matter; I’ll help with the dishes,” he offered.
“No, you’ve done more than enough taking care of dinner tonight. Now let me handle the rest, please?”
“Fine,” he conceded when he saw the resolve in his wife’s eyes.
“But please hurry up with that, okay? I need you in bed with me.”
“Sure; I’ll be right there.” He pecked her and left the kitchen.
“Thank you for such a great husband, Lord. I wouldn’t have had him without You,” she said gratefully as she opened the tap.

Lisa sighed with exhaustion as she got into bed.
“Hard day at work, huh?” Ethan asked as he wrapped his arms around her.
“You have no idea, honey. How was yours?”
“The usual; just that I didn’t encounter many difficult patients today.”
“That’s nice to know. And honey…” He looked at her. “Thanks for tonight; it was wonderful.”
“You’re welcome, sweetie.” He kissed her forehead.
“I wonder how my life would have turned out if I hadn’t met you. Everything seems to make sense with you in it,” Ethan thought aloud. Lisa chuckled.
“It’s because we were made for each other. I love you, Ethan Richards.”
“I love you too, my precious.” They kissed.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Lester Young says:

    Love really does make everything alright…a great picture of love as it should be. Thanks for this, J.

    Lester

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      And thanks for reading, Lester.

      Like

  2. Kim says:

    This is great Joseyphina……makes me want to read more to see what happens….:)

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      I’m glad to know that, Kim. Have a nice day! 🙂

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

