I Should Have Known


Everyone’s fantasy, right? 🙂

From since I knew my name,
I knew I was special.
I had all these big dreams;
For me, the sky wasn’t the limit;
Only just the beginning;

The future was mine to fulfill;
Fame and recognition, mine to live it;
Because I knew what I had to offer;
Exactly what the world would love;
Just made for the limelight;

But just as it takes to crawl before walking;
I needed guidance to walk on the path I had chosen;
I wanted to jump before I learnt to walk;
So I landed heavily on the ground;
Left without the strength to get up again;

We all love the spotlight, don’t we?

It feels amazing to have your talents celebrated;
But it is dangerous when it gets to your head;
Thinking you are on top of the world;
And everything being under your feet;
But as unpredictable as the weather can be, so is life.

Don’t ignore the ones you see on your way up;
Because when you happen to fall down;
They may be the only ones to help you up;
And remember those up the ladder may not really be helpful;
Towards those who are climbing up.

Your talents are tailored for you;
And not you for your talents;
So don’t allow the ‘showbiz’ of life;
Dictate how you live;
Because the whole you is bigger than your talent.

Cool, right? 🙂
Photos by Google (c) Images.

I should have known;
That all that glitters isn’t gold;
That not all who hail me love me;
And not all who provoke me hate me;
If only I had accepted the help my loved ones offered me…
I wouldn’t have ended up the way I did.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Lester Young says:

    I think just about all of us can find little snapshots of ourselves in various places throughout that poem, Josey…thanks for the revealing words of wisdom.

    Lester

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      And thanks for reading, Lester. God bless you.

      Like

  2. We always feel beholden to those who helped us while we’re still weak and powerless=) you poem serves as a nice tribute to friends true friends:) I lOve it !

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thank you! I’m glad you could pass by. 🙂

      Like

      1. My pleasure =)

        Like

  3. Wise woman… I will look forward to following along. Thanks for stopping by my blog. :0)

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Marilyn. I’m honored to have you visit. 🙂

      Like

  4. You couldn’t have said it better.

    Like

  5. Kim says:

    Beautiful wisdom Joseyphina!….God bless!

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      God bless you too, Kim!

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

