Love Always Prevails


I was pretty angry yesterday. Not pretty but very, actually. My friend hurt me and I know she did it on purpose. I don’t know if she wanted to provoke me to the point where I would react but I didn’t. I just lay there on my bed, seething in irritation and I could do nothing else because I’m not the kind to speak out. I usually keep it inside and slowly find a way to cool down and heal myself.

As I lay there, all I could think about was how to make her pay for her deed. No matter how much I tried to block out those thoughts, they continued to flood my mind. To pay her back in the same way would be so obvious so I sought for more subtle ways to give her a taste of her own medicine. Perhaps I would just ignore her the following day. That wouldn’t be difficult to do, I thought.

So I managed to fall asleep but it was a painful and tiring process with all the resentment within me. I woke up with the sun’s rays and always it gives me hope for a great day. My friend was still asleep and at the moment, I had forgotten how I felt towards her some hours earlier. As I showered, yesterday’s events began to streamline in my memory. A part of me was eagerly searching for all that angry energy I had so I could ‘punish’ her today but could find none. Of course, I had prayed asking for forgiveness and the strength to forgive those who had offended me. There was nothing to hold on to anymore.
When our eyes met when she woke up, all I felt in my heart was love and I felt happy that I was not angry anymore. I silently uttered a thankful prayer to God for healing my heart and filling it with the affection I had for her. We spent the day on a very good note, chatting, laughing heartily and teasing each other.

What am I trying to say here? The fact is, as humans as we are, we are bound to get hurt and angry with the ones we live and interact with but the good news, the Holy Spirit dwelling within us convicts promptly whenever the love, peace and joy in our hearts are being dominated by resentments not healthy for the soul. We are blessed to know the God of love whose love is ever abundant which outflows from the hearts to those around us.
Love prevails above all and it always will. But you have to allow it.

Give yourself the chance to love someone today…and it will make your day a lovely day.

Have a love-filled day, folks!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Wayne Augden says:

    Very nice, Josey, and so true! God bless you, sister.

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Wayne and God bless you too.

      Like

  2. Inspiring post, Joseyphina, thank you for sharing your experience and thoughts.

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks and I’m glad to do so with an amazing family in the blogosphere!

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

