Surrender It All


I thought in my heart as I walked towards the altar,
“I’m surrendering my life to the Lord today.”
But later during the week, I realized I’ve turned back to my old ways;
Not because I forgot of the commitment I made on Sunday;
It just feels humanly comfortable to be in charge of my life.

So on and off it was;
Praying and repenting of my misdeeds and returning to them the very next day;
Surrendering my life today and taking it back tomorrow;
Trying to ease my conscience which wouldn’t cease to throb with guilt;
My flesh and spirit were constantly at war.

Then I realized how unbalanced and confused I was;
And a good friend told me, “It’s either you’re all in or out. God hates lukewarm people.”
Then I thought,

‘why not surrender all to God?
After all, everything I’ve tried to do ended up in a big mess. It was God who delivered me.
I would be better off with Him in charge.’

And ever since I took the first and great step;
It has been an amazing experience day in and day out;
It has not been rosy but it has been worth every minute;
His love has always been unconditional, His faithfulness, constant;
His mercies tender and brand new each day. What else could I ask for?

Many people have this grievously mistaken perception;
Surrendering your life to Christ is the end of all fun and happiness;
But let me assure you, it is the most amazing journey ever to take in life;
Your spirit grows, you stay healthy and your soul assuredly saved.

All this time, one thing I’ve come to learn and appreciate is;
I’m not totally safe until I’m lost in God.
Lose yourself in God and you will be forever safe.

Joseyphina’s World © 2012.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Lester Young says:

    1 Peter 5:9 is so true: “…Knowing that the same afflictions are accomplished in your brethren that are in the world.” Thank you for the encouragement, Joseyphina…God bless you!

    Lester

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      God bless you too, Lester. Have a blessed day!

      Like

  2. Very beautiful message with words of great insight and strength!

    Like

  3. joseyphina says:

    Thanks Wendell and God bless you.

    Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

